Tag Archives: Canadian Songwriters

A Crisis, Not A Career-Ender

Published 05/30/2017

By Unison Benevolent Fund

In 2009, The Unison Benevolent Fund was an idea scribbled on the back of napkin. Inspired by a catastrophic accident that had left a brilliant musician in dire straits, music industry veterans Jodie Ferneyhough and Catharine Saxberg saw the incredible compassion and generosity that poured out of the Canadian music community – but knew more could be done to provide members of the industry with a safety net in such situations. Eight years later, Unison has developed into a truly robust resource for Canadian music industry professionals in times of crisis.

All of Unison’s services – counselling, wellness support and emergency financial assistance­are provided for free, and with the utmost discretion. That’s why Unison is so grateful when someone chooses to come forward with their experience, and publicly acknowledges its role in their life. One of the artists to have done so recently is Kaleb Hikel, the composer and musician behind The Sun Harmonic. Below, you’ll find his reflections on what brought him to Unison.

How did you discover The Unison Benevolent Fund, and why were you looking?
I found Unison by recommendation, through a friend of mine in the music business. We were talking at lunch about my recent discovery of the pain in my wrists while working at my day job and music simultaneously. At that point, I was unaware of what it meant, and where it was headed. I would be diagnosed with tendinopathy in my left wrist in August 2015, and in my right wrist two months later. I would need some sort of support to quit my work and transition into a long-term recovery period. If I had to let go of my day job as well as playing, writing, and recording music, I knew I couldn’t do it alone.

What support was most valuable to you?
I spent my downtime in a focused recovery from the repetitive strain injury that was persistent in both of my wrists. I was going to a clinic in Toronto weekly, while paying my basic expenses at home with the support of Unison. Without Unison’s support at that point, the only other option would have been dismantling my home studio and abandoning entire recording projects. It was a confusing time.

What resources do you think the Canadian music community could have provided to support people who find themselves in situations similar to yours?
I think it’s taboo to talk of injury, and mental or physical sacrifice, in the career of a working musician. The scene is all about inspiration, perspiration, and determination, but all of these come at a cost to your body and your mind. I think there could be more resources available to the music community to prevent injury from happening at its root! More presence at conferences, festivals, online, anywhere that they can reach active musicians who haven’t yet been injured.

How has your life as a music industry professional changed, or evolved, since you first contacted Unison?|
Life has regressed, re-invented itself, and maybe even re-invigorated itself since I first reached out to Unison. I went from releasing my own indie projects, and touring across the country, to not being able to play my instruments at all for three months straight. My songwriting was heavily affected – but ironically, inspired (writing lyrics only, very little playing). I still haven’t performed an official show – no more than three songs on any stage – since August 2015, when I played on the beach in Grand Bend. I hope to get shows back up and running this year, to share all the emotions and songs that I’ve written in my long, yet creative, recovery.

Would you have words of advice or encouragement for someone reaching out to Unison, or programs like it?
The hardest part for me was to be able to take it very seriously so quickly. Struggles are constant in the field of live performance, and in the lives of independent musicians, but the injury came on too fast for proper planning. I had to take a hard look at myself and say, “This could be the end of your music,” and then convince myself that a break from it all was better than a finale. I would encourage everyone who’s on the verge of an injury, or in recovery, to keep their eyes on their art. And continue creating –  without furthering your injury, of course. It has been one of my most creative times, and that’s a considerable positive to arise from an unwelcome negative in my life.

To find out more about Unison’s free, confidential programs for Canadian music professionals, or to make a donation, please visit unisonfund.ca.

Drake: More than a rapper

Published 03/29/2017

By Howard Druckman

After the 2017 Grammy Awards, where “Hotline Bling” won for Best Rap/Sung Performance, and Best Rap Song, Drake said, “I am referred to as a black artist, like last night at [the Grammys], I’m a black artist… I’m apparently a rapper, even though ‘Hotline Bling’ is not a rap song,” during an interview on Apple Music’s OVO Sound radio. He said he finds himself pigeonholed in categories like rap, even if “Hotline Bling” is arguably a pop song.

Truth is, Drake is remarkably eclectic in his musical tastes. On his new “playlist” (but really, it’s an album) More Life, he samples Lionel Ritchie’s “All Night Long,” Earth Wind & Fire’s “Devotion,” South African DJ Black Coffee’s “Superman,” Australian artist Hiatus Kaiyote’s “Building a Ladder,” and even a snippet from the Sonic the Hedgehog video-game theme. He’s exploring genres like afrobeat, grime, even Arabic music, and more of the dancehall, trap and other Caribbean roots he first explored (and took worldwide) on VIEWS.

But Drake is a keen listener to, and promoter of, all kinds of music. For example, when he curated the musical accompaniment for a Sotheby’s S|2 gallery exhibit of work by African-American artists from the last 70 years, among his choices was seminal 1930s acoustic blues originator Robert Johnson’s “32-20 Blues.” Even more astonishing than the choice was that Drake said he listens to the song before every show, because “that’s how I get set.”

In another example, the basis of “Hotline Bling” was a sample of the 1972 Timmy Thomas one-hit-wonder, slow-jam plea for peace, “Why Can’t We Live Together?” It’s music Drake reportedly fell in love with after his right-hand-man producer Noah “40” Shebib played it for him. In an interview with Nardwuar, who played him a personal message of thanks from Thomas, Drake responded with, “I just want to thank him for making incredible music in the time that he was making music. And just for doing something that’s timeless, because it’s really difficult – not only for something to resonate with you years later, but be good enough to actually take a piece of it, and be able to make something else from it. That takes a really special creation.”

Perhaps the most remarkable example was a short-lived online leak of Drake singing a verse of the Velvet Underground chanteuse Nico’s 1973 version of singer-songwriter Jackson Browne’s sadly beautiful ballad “These Days,” which he penned for her in 1967. Drake teamed up with Barf Troop’s Babeo Baggins to do it, for a covers EP. “Basically ‘These Days’ is my favorite song,” Baggins told Fader. “I just shared it with my friend, he had never heard it before. He connected with it too, he thought it was a really great song.” Drake’s unlicensed version has long since been removed from the internet, and hasn’t been released by Baggins, but you can hear Nico’s version here.

Maybe it’s because he was listening to his dad’s record collection as he grew up. Maybe he’s just musically open-minded. Maybe he’s easily bored and needs to explore. Maybe all three. But whatever the reason, Drake connects with all kinds of music, which only makes his own that much stronger.

Why are Canadian songwriters the best?

Published 12/1/2014

By David McPherson

There’s a line from a songwriter friend of mine that goes, “Most of my friends have all moved on/Dollar bills have replaced their songs.” When I think of Canadian songwriters, this line resonates because most, on the contrary, don’t give up. Sure, many take another job (or two) to supplement their income, but the majority continue to toil on the unpredictable road of a professional singer-songwriter, ditches and all. Why? As another songwriter told me recently, “There’s nothing else I know how to do.” And Canadians’ lives are much richer for the gifts they give via their words and music.

We’re familiar with the greats, all SOCAN members: Leonard Cohen, Bruce Cockburn, Luc Plamondon, Gordon Lightfoot, Serge Fiori, Joni Mitchell, Robert Charlebois, Gord Downie, Bachman & Cummings, Ian & Sylvia, Cuddy & Keelor and more recently, City & Colour, Tegan & Sara, Louis-Jean Cormier, Drake, Julien Mineau, Serena Ryder, Shad and deadmau5, among others. And that’s just a handful of the songwriting talent that exists in our country. Many have won JUNOs, ADISQ and SOCAN Awards, some have been inducted into the Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame, some have even earned the Order of Canada. And for every one, there are hundreds more writing great songs. Small wonder SOCAN has more than 120,000 members.

What makes their songs so good? The pride and passion they bring to their craft. Their ability to tell our country’s story, dissect our nation’s history, or tackle the eternal mysteries of the Canadian heart and soul. I see today’s song-crafting men and women playing at various Toronto venues every night of the week, testing their work on anyone who’ll listen. A good song can give strength in times of trouble, joy in times of despair, make you linger long on the lyrics and want to sing along. There are many such quintessentially Canadian anthems: Consider Leonard Cohen’s “Bird on the Wire,” Blue Rodeo’s “Hasn’t Hit Me Yet,” Robert Charlebois’ “Un Gars Ben Ordinaire,” Gordon Lightfoot’s “Early Morning Rain,” Gilles Vigneault’s “Mon Pays,” and Joni Mitchell’s “Both Sides Now,” to name a mere few.

It’s a cliché that Canadian songwriters are attuned to nature because of the wide open spaces of our nation, but the seed of that idea is true. Those spaces, our cities, and our harsh winters and hot summers all affect the national character, making for the kind of memorable metaphors that so many Canadians can relate to. Think of Joni Mitchell’s line, “I wish I had a river I could skate away on,” from “River,” the vastness of the country portrayed in Ian & Sylvia’s “Four Strong Winds,” or the snow falling on the deep silent water of Lake Ontario in Blue Rodeo’s “Hasn’t Hit Me Yet.” Has anybody captured the essence of the frozen North better than Stan Rogers in “Northwest Passage”? Or the pleasures of life in a Canadian factory town better than Stompin’ Tom Connors in “Sudbury Saturday Night”? Or the vagaries of the road back from the big city to the small hometown than The Guess Who’s “Running Back to Saskatoon”?

Canadian songwriters don’t shy away from political and protest songs, either. The examples are endless. Buffy Sainte Marie’s anti-war song “Universal Soldier,” a hit for British singer-songwriter Donovan in the ‘60s; Bruce Cockburn’s “If I Had a Rocket Launcher,” which captures some of the helplessness of political action; The Tragically Hip’s “Wheat Kings,” which tells the story of David Milgaard, falsely accused of rape and murder, then freed after 20 years in prison; and K’NAAN’s “Wavin’ Flag,” an anthem of hope and inspiration for oppressed peoples.

Artists from around the globe have recorded songs penned by our talented songwriters. For example, Cohen’s “Hallelujah” is one of the most covered songs in history, having been recorded more than 300 times. Lightfoot’s songs – which have won 15 SOCAN Classics Awards, among countless other accomplishments – have been covered by Elvis Presley, Barbra Streisand, Johnny Cash, Sarah McLachlan and Bob Dylan, who’s called Lightfoot one of his favourite songwriters. Homegrown songwriters have placed innumerable songs in countless popular TV shows and movies, too.

Canada’s songwriters have also written or co-written smash hits for others, in a wide variety of genres, and our songwriters’ success on the world stage continues to grow. Take Rod Stewart’s “Rhythm of My Heart,” co-written by Marc Jordan and John Capek, chosen to open the 2014 Commonwealth Games in Scotland; Josh Groban’s “You Raise Me Up,” co-written by Thomas “Tawgs” Salter; Gwen Stefani’s “Rich Girl,” co-written by Chantal Kreviazuk, who also co-wrote – along with fellow SOCAN members Adam Messinger, and Nasri Atweh of MAGIC! – “Feel This  Moment,” a worldwide dance smash by Pitbull featuring Christina Aguilera. Proud SOCAN member Stephan Moccio co-wrote one of the most successful worldwide hit songs ever, Miley Cyrus’ “Wrecking Ball.”

Judging by the collective of writers I’ve come to know – and sometimes interview as a freelance writer for various publications, including SOCAN’s Words + Music – there’s no reason to believe our influence will wane in the years to come. On the contrary, the number of SOCAN-member songwriters and composers who received royalties from outside of Canada doubled from 2007 to 2012.

Still need proof that Canadian songwriters are the best in the world? Go to your local live music venue tonight and hear one of them perform. Listen to the music. Absorb the words. And feel lucky that we live in a country brimming with the best songwriting talent in the world.

Tag Archives: Canadian Songwriters

Une crise, mais pas la fin d’une carrière

publié 05/30/2017

Par Unison Benevolent Fund

Le Fonds de bienfaisance Unison a commencé par une idée griffonnée sur une serviette en papier en 2009. Sous le choc d’un accident catastrophique qui a laissé un brillant musicien dans une situation désespérée, les vétérans de l’industrie de la musique Jodie Ferneyhough et Catharine Saxberg ont été témoins de l’incroyable compassion et de l’immense générosité de la communauté musicale canadienne, mais ils savaient qu’il était possible d’en faire encore plus pour offre un filet de sécurité aux membres de l’industrie qui se retrouvent en fâcheuse position. Huit ans plus tard, Unison est réellement devenu une ressource robuste pour les professionnels de l’industrie canadienne de la musique en situation de crise.

Tous les services offerts par Unison — counseling, soutien au mieux-être et aide financière d’urgence­sont offerts gratuitement et dans la plus grande discrétion. C’est pourquoi Unison est vraiment reconnaissante lorsqu’une personne témoigne publiquement de leur expérience et du rôle que l’organisation a joué dans leur vie. L’un des artistes qui l’a récemment fait est Kaleb Hikel, le compositeur et musicien derrière The Sun Harmonic. Nous vous présentons donc ses réflexions sur ce qui l’a mené vers Unison.

Comment avez-vous découvert le Fonds de bienfaisance Unison et que cherchiez-vous ?
On m’a recommandé Unison, un ami à moi qui est aussi dans l’industrie de la musique. On discutait pendant notre pause dîner de la douleur aux poignets que j’avais récemment commencé à ressentir tant à mon travail que lorsque je joue de la musique. À ce moment-là, je n’avais aucune idée de ce que ça signifiait et jusqu’où ça irait. On m’a diagnostiqué une tendinopathie au poignet gauche en août 2015 et deux mois plus tard au poignet droit. J’allais avoir besoin de soutien pour pouvoir quitter mon emploi et traverser la longue période de convalescence. Je savais que je n’arriverais pas seul à quitter mon emploi et cesser de jouer, écrire et enregistrer de la musique.

Quel soutien avez-vous reçu qui vous a été le plus bénéfique ?
J’ai passé tout mon temps à me concentrer sur la guérison des microtraumatismes répétés dont je souffrais aux deux poignets. Je me rendais dans une clinique de Toronto chaque semaine et Unison m’aidait à payer mes dépenses de base à la maison. Sans le soutien d’Unison, la seule autre option que j’aurais eue aurait été de démanteler mon studio et d’abandonner tous mes projets d’enregistrement. C’était une période très confuse.

Quelles ressources la communauté musicale canadienne aurait-elle pu fournir en soutien aux personnes qui se retrouvent dans des situations similaires à la vôtre ?
Je crois qu’il y a un certain tabou à parler de blessures ou de sacrifices mentaux ou physiques dans la carrière d’un musicien. On parle toujours d’inspiration, de transpiration et de détermination sur la scène musicale, mais notre corps et notre esprit paient pour tout ça. Je crois qu’il devrait y avoir plus de ressources afin de prévenir les blessures. Plus de présence aux conférences, festivals, en ligne, partout où se trouvent des musiciens qui n’ont pas encore subi de blessures.

Comment votre vie en tant que professionnel de l’industrie de la musique a-t-elle changé ou évoluée depuis que vous avez communiqué avec Unison.
Ma vie a régressé puis s’est réinventée et peut-être un peu revigoré depuis que j’ai communiqué avec Unison. Je suis passé d’une situation où je lançais mes projets autoproduits et partais en tournée d’un bout à l’autre du pays à celle de ne pas du tout pouvoir toucher mes instruments pendant trois mois entiers. Mon écriture a été grandement affectée, mais ironiquement, ça m’a inspiré, surtout que je ne pouvais qu’écrire et que je jouais très peu. Je ne suis pas encore officiellement remonté sur scène — je n’ai pas joué plus de trois chansons sur scène — depuis août 2015 alors que j’avais joué sur la plage à Grand Bend. J’espère remonter sur scène cette année afin de pouvoir partager toutes les émotions et les chansons que j’ai écrites durant cette longue, mais créative convalescence.

Des conseils ou des encouragements à transmettre aux gens qui songent à communiquer avec Unison ou un autre organisme du genre ?
Ce que j’ai trouvé le plus difficile c’est de prendre ça très au sérieux, très rapidement. Les luttes sont quotidiennes dans le domaine de la musique et dans la vie des musiciens indépendants, mais ma blessure s’est déclarée trop rapidement pour que je puisse planifier quoi que ce soit. J’ai dû me regarder dans le miroir et me dire, « ça pourrait être la fin de ta musique », afin de me convaincre qu’une pause valait mieux qu’une fin. J’encourage tous ceux qui sont sur le point de se blesser ou en convalescence de garder leur art à l’esprit. Continuez de créer, sans empirer votre blessure, bien entendu. Ce fut une des périodes les plus créatives de ma vie, et c’est quelque chose d’incroyablement positif qui est ressorti d’une période très négative de ma vie.

Pour en savoir plus sur les programmes gratuits et confidentiels offerts par Unison aux professionnels canadiens de la musique, ou pour faire un don, visitez le fondsunison.ca.

Drake : plus qu’un rappeur

publié 03/29/2017

Par Howard Druckman

Après les Grammy Awards 2017, où « Hotline Bling » a remporté le trophée de la meilleure performance rap/chantée et celui de la meilleure chanson rap, Drake a déclaré, sur les ondes de la radio OVO Sound d’Apple Music : « On me qualifie d’artiste noir, comme hier soir [aux Grammys], je suis un artiste noir… Apparemment, je suis un rappeur, même si “Hotline Bling” n’est pas une chanson rap ». Il se retrouve catalogué comme artiste rap même si « Hotline Bling » est réellement une chanson pop.

À tout dire, Drake a des goûts musicaux remarquablement éclectiques. Sur sa nouvelle « playlist » (qui est en fait un album) intitulée More Life, on peut entendre des échantillonnages de Lionel Ritchie (« All Night Long »), Earth Wind & Fire (« Devotion »), du DJ sud-africain Black Coffee (« Superman »), de l’artiste australien Hiatus Kaiyote (« Building a Ladder ») et même un petit extrait du thème musical du jeu vidéo Sonic the Hedgehog. Il y explore des genres musicaux tels que l’afrobeat, le grime, la musique arabe en plus de poursuivre son exploration des styles musicaux caribéens comme le dancehall, le trap et d’autres qu’il nous a présentés (ainsi qu’au monde entier) sur VIEWS.

Drake est un avide auditeur, et porte-étendard, de tous les styles musicaux. Prenez l’exemple de son travail de curateur pour l’accompagnement musical d’une exposition d’œuvres d’artistes afro-américains des 70 dernières années présentée par la galerie d’art Sotheby’s S|2 : on y retrouvait entre autres la pièce « 32-20 Blues » du pionnier du genre, Robert Johnson. Ce qui est encore plus étonnant, c’est que Drake affirme qu’il écoute cette chanson avant chacun de ses spectacles, parce que « c’est comme ça que je me prépare. »

Un autre bon exemple de cet éclectisme est l’échantillonnage qui est au cœur de « Hotline Bling », tiré d’une pièce de Timmy Thomas — « Why Can’t We Live Together? », le seul succès de cet artiste — parue en 1972, une chanson au tempo plutôt lent qui plaide pour la paix dans le monde. Drake serait tombé amoureux de cette chanson après que son bras droit et réalisateur Noah « 40 » Shebib lui ait fait découvrir. Dans une entrevue accordée à Nardwuar, qui lui a fait entendre un message de remerciement de Thomas, Drake a répondu : « je veux le remercier d’avoir fait cette incroyable musique du temps qu’il faisait de la musique. Et surtout d’avoir créé quelque chose d’intemporel, parce que c’est très difficile, et pas juste quelque chose qui vous touche encore des années plus tard, mais quelque chose qui est tellement bon qu’on peut en prendre un petit bout et faire quelque chose d’autre avec. Ça prend une création réellement exceptionnelle. »

Mais l’un des exemples les plus remarquables entre tous fut cette brève fuite en ligne d’une pièce où Drake chantait un couplet de la pièce « These Days » une ballade aussi triste que magnifique que l’auteur-compositeur-interprète Jackson Browne avait écrite pour la chanteuse de Velvet Underground, Nico, en 1967. Drake a fait équipe avec Babeo Baggins de Barf Troop afin de l’enregistrer pour un EP de reprises. « C’est bien simple, “These Days” est ma chanson préférée », avait alors déclaré Baggins au magazine Fader. « Je l’ai partagée avec mon ami qui ne l’avait jamais entendue avant. Il l’a beaucoup aimée, il a dit que c’était vraiment une grande chanson. » La version non autorisée de Drake a depuis belle lurette été retirée d’Internet et Baggins ne l’a pas publiée, mais vous pourrez tout de même entendre la version de 1973 par Nico ici.

Peut-être que c’est parce qu’il écoutait les disques dans la collection de son père, lorsqu’il était plus jeune. Peut-être qu’il a tout simplement l’esprit très ouvert, musicalement. Peut-être qu’il se lasse facilement et qu’il a constamment besoin d’explorer. Peut-être un peu de tout ça. Mais peu importe la raison, Drake est en contact avec toutes sortes de musique, et c’est pour cette raison que sa propre musique est si solide.

Pourquoi les auteurs-compositeurs canadiens sont-ils les meilleurs?

publié 12/1/2014

Par David McPherson

Un auteur-compositeur et ami a écrit : « La plupart de mes amis sont partis /  Leurs chansons, des dollars les ont remplacées ». Quand je pense aux auteurs-compositeurs canadiens, ces vers résonnent pour moi car la plupart, au contraire, n’ont pas abandonné. Bien sûr, bon nombre se sont trouvé un autre emploi (ou même deux) pour gagner de quoi vivre, mais la majorité continue d’avancer avec peine sur la route imprévisible et d’une carrière d’auteur-compositeur. Pourquoi? Comme un autre auteur m’a dit récemment : « Je ne sais rien faire d’autre. » Et la vie des Canadiens est bien plus riche grâce aux cadeaux qu’ils nous offrent par le biais de leurs paroles et de leur musique.

Nous connaissons les plus grands, tous membres de la SOCAN : Leonard Cohen, Bruce Cockburn, Luc Plamondon, Gordon Lightfoot, Serge Fiori, Joni Mitchell, Robert Charlebois, Gord Downie, Bachman & Cummings, Ian & Sylvia, Cuddy & Keelor et plus récemment, City & Colour, Tegan & Sara, Louis-Jean Cormier, Drake, Julien Mineau, Serena Ryder, Shad et deadmau5, parmi tant d’autres. Nous avons une foule de talents de la chanson dans notre pays. Plusieurs ont remporté des prix JUNO, de l’ADISQ et des prix SOCAN, certains ont été intronisés au Panthéon des auteurs et compositeurs canadiens, d’autres ont été décorés de l’Ordre du Canada. Et pour chacun, il y en a des centaines de plus qui écrivent de magnifiques chansons. Rien d’étonnant que la SOCAN compte plus de 120 000 membres.

Qu’est-ce qui rend leurs chansons si belles? La fierté et la passion qu’ils mettent dans leur art. Leur habileté à nous raconter notre pays, à disséquer l’histoire de notre nation ou à démêler les éternels mystères du cœur et de l’âme canadienne. Je vois aujourd’hui de nombreux artisans de la chanson, hommes et femmes, jouer dans diverses salles de Toronto tous les soirs de la semaine, à essayer leur œuvre auprès de qui veut bien entendre. Une bonne chanson peut donner du courage dans des temps troublés, de la joie dans les moments de désespoir, faire réfléchir par ses paroles ou nous amener à chanter en cœur. On trouve une véritable quintessence d’hymnes canadiens : pensez à « Bird on the Wire » de Leonard Cohen, « Hasn’t Hit Me Yet » de Blue Rodeo, « Un Gars Ben Ordinaire » de Robert Charlebois, « Early Morning Rain » de Gordon Lightfoot, « Mon Pays » de Gilles Vigneault et « Both Sides Now » de Joni Mitchell, pour n’en nommer que quelques-uns.

C’est un cliché de dire que les auteurs-compositeurs canadiens sont en accord avec la nature à cause des grands espaces de notre pays, mais la racine de cette idée est pourtant vraie. Ces espaces, nos villes, nos durs hivers et nos été chauds façonnent notre personnalité nationale, et créent le genre de métaphores mémorables dans lesquelles tant de Canadiens se reconnaissent. Pensez à ces mots de Joni Mitchell : « Je rêve d’une rivière sur laquelle je pourrais patiner », tirés de sa chanson « River », de l’immensité du pays qu’ont dépeint Ian & Sylvia dans « Four Strong Winds », ou à la neige qui tombe dans les eaux profondes et silencieuses du Lac Ontario dans « Hasn’t Hit Me Yet » de Blue Rodeo. Qui aurait pu mieux saisir l’essence des grands froids du Nord que Stan Rogers dans « Northwest Passage »? Ou le plaisir de vivre dans une ville de manufacture canadienne mieux que Stompin’ Tom Connors dans « Sudbury Saturday Night »? Ou les vagabondages de la route au retour d’une grande ville vers son village natal mieux que les Guess Who dans « Running Back to Saskatoon »?

Les auteurs-compositeurs canadiens ne craignent pas non plus les chansons politiques et engagées. Les exemples sont innombrables. La chanson contre la guerre « Universal Soldier » de Buffy Sainte Marie, qui a été un succès pour l’auteur-compositeur et interprète britannique Donovan dans les années 60; « If I Had a Rocket Launcher » de Bruce Cockburn qui exprime toute l’impuissance de l’action politique; « Wheat Kings » de Tragically Hip qui raconte l’histoire de David Milgaard, accusé à tort d’enlèvement et de meurtre, puis libéré après avoir passé vingt ans en prison; et « Wavin’ Flag » de K’NAAN un hymne d’espoir et d’inspiration pour les peuples opprimés.

Des artistes des quatre coins du monde ont enregistré des chansons nées du talent de nos auteurs-compositeurs. Par exemple, « Hallelujah » de Cohen est l’une des chansons les plus reprises dans l’histoire, ayant été enregistrées plus de 300 fois. Les chansons de Lightfoot – qui ont remporté quinze prix Classiques de la SOCAN, parmi de nombreuses autres réalisations – ont été reprises par Elvis Presley, Barbra Streisand, Johnny Cash, Sarah McLachlan et Bob Dylan, qui considère Lightfoot comme l’un de ses auteurs-compositeurs préférés. Les chansons de nos auteurs-compositeurs se retrouvent dans d’innombrables films et émissions de télévision.

Les auteurs-compositeurs du Canada ont aussi écrit et coécrit des succès monstre pour les autres dans une grande variété de genres, et leur réussite sur la scène mondiale continue de croître. Prenez « Rhythm of My Heart » de Rod Stewart,  coécrite par Marc Jordan et John Capek, choisie pour inaugurer les Jeux 2014 du Commonwealth en Écosse; « You Raise Me Up » de Josh Groban,  coécrite par Thomas « Tawgs » Salter; « Rich Girl » de Gwen Stefani, coécrite par Chantal Kreviazuk, qui a également coécrit avec ses confrères de la SOCAN Adam Messinger et Nasri Atweh de MAGIC! « Feel This  Moment », un succès mondial de dance interprété par Pitbull et en vedette Christina Aguilera. Le très fier membre de la SOCAN Stephan Moccio a coécrit l’un des plus grands succès à travers le monde, « Wrecking Ball » de Miley Cyrus.

À en juger par le collectif d’auteurs que j’en suis venu à connaître – et parfois à interviewer en tant que rédacteur pigiste pour diverses publications, dont Words + Music de la SOCAN – il n’y a aucune raison de croire que notre influence fléchira dans les années à venir. Au contraire, le nombre de membre auteurs-compositeurs de la SOCAN qui ont reçu des redevances de l’extérieur du Canada a doublé de 2007 à 2012.

Faut-il encore démontrer que les auteurs-compositeurs canadiens sont les meilleurs au monde? Allez ce soir dans l’un de vos établissements locaux qui présente de la musique en direct et écoutez-les. Écoutez leur musique. Absorbez leurs paroles. Et soyez heureux de vivre dans une pays qui déborde des meilleurs talents en chanson au monde.